top of page

MAKING MUSIC IN LIFE

Music has impacted my life in a variety of ways; the above picture is from All State. Everybody has at least one song that will make you roll down the window and scream the lyrics.

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureAllison Mcfadden

Tis the Season

Updated: Dec 7, 2018

Tonight is the first Madrigal Knight of this year. We have worked so hard to prepare for tonight having three-hour rehearsals every night this week, except Wednesday. Although this makes it very hard to get homework done, I wouldn't have it any other way. Running songs and perfecting them for my family and friends gives me the best feeling in the world. I don't know if it is obvious enough yet, but I truly have a passion for music; it is what makes life so bright and beautiful.


I love my entire Madrigal Knight family. The whole family includes Ms. Reece, the Court Singers, and the Madrigals. I'm so excited to see all of the work that we have put into these songs pay off tonight. Last year, I was in Court Singers, so it'll be a whole different experience to see what being a Madrigal is like. Also, as a senior, I have a solo. I would tell you to come and watch, but Madrigal Knight has been sold out since before Thanksgiving break.


It is absolutely amazing to see behind the scenes of Madrigal Knight. You would swear that everything happens by magic, however, it does not. All the parents, singers, and other staff are what makes this special night work. Without them, we wouldn't be able to do have of what we do. The cafeteria staff help make the dinner, the parents prepare the food, there are band members that play our fanfares, more parents construct our castle, and the singers prepare music and help set up. Over one-hundred people are involved in Madrigal Knight with a good amount only working behind the scenes.


Because we are so busy, we appreciate that there are other choir members that help us serve. We also appreciate that there are concert choir members helping us by holding the heavy platters of food and joining along in singing Silent Night. Without them, I'm sure that the Madrigals would have to serve in addition to singing, which would be something interesting to see in our long, fancy dresses. "Oh, terribly sorry. I didn't mean for my sleeve to end up in your soup."


As a Madrigal, our role is quite simple. We just prepare an insane amount of songs and memorize lines. We also have to internalize where we need to be throughout the course of the night. We will be performing 23 songs and I stand in five different arrangements so I have put a ton of brain power into Madrigal Knight because of course, we don't just move from arrangement to arrangement after a certain number of songs. Also, we had to memorize when we don't sing, which is almost more tricky, but I am grateful for the chance to drink water and eat.


Lastly but most definitely not least, you need to know just the sheer amount of time it takes me to get ready for Madrigal Knight. In addition to getting out after fourth hour today to set up the decorations, I will need to do my makeup, do my hair, and get dressed. I would love to say that it should take the same amount of time as getting ready in the morning but then I would not be ready. Girls have to curl their hair because it is more authentic but with as much hair as I have, it takes a lifetime. Makeup is the same story; I don't really do much makeup on a daily basis so it takes me forever to look "stage" ready. And finally we come to the dresses; mine is not terribly hard to put on but it definitely more clothes than I put on every day.

Saturday after the dress rehearsal

Steak 'n Shake party after Madrigal Knight on Saturday

19 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page